Our Curriculum & Pedagogy

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child. The Framework was developed with several early year’s experts and parents.

It sets out:

The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare

The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge

Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS

Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)”

This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years’ experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.

How my child will be learning?

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

Children develop skills and confidence in speaking and listening in a range of situations.

Children develop their coordination, control, and movement through being active.

Within clear boundaries children form positive relationships, develop social skills and respect for others and understand appropriate behaviour.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

Through the daily phonics lesson (Read, Write Inc.) children link sounds and letters and begin to read and write.  Alongside this there are adult led literacy lessons and planned opportunities for guided reading and writing.  Fine motor skills development and handwriting are also modeled and practised.

Through the daily maths activities including conversations about number, ‘everyday’ maths and oral rehearsal of number sequences, size, shape and patterns.

Finding out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Exploring a wide range of media and sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

Islamic Development

Children will learn about Islam in a practical way as they approach the seven areas of learning using different themes each half term.  This approach will enable children to relate Islam in all aspects of their lives in a natural way where ever they are.  The Islamic Personality will be developed as children link their actions to that which pleases Allah (swt) and which displeases Allah (swt), looking at the stories of prophets including life of Muhammad (saw) and how we follow his example.

The EYFS has four key themes:

Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and  secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and interconnected.